Flourless Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chip Cookies

Standard

So chewy, so soft. They turned out perfectly the first time. I'm left wondering if I should start baking a lot of things this way. With baking specifically, the fewer the ingredients for me, it seems, the better the end result.

I was in the mood to bake this afternoon after a ridiculous amount of time spent organizing and cleaning. It’s really just amazing what piles up around you when you’re not paying attention. Good will, for sure, is going to be loving me here shortly. Anyway, I was in the mood like I said, but had few ingredients to throw together. Half a bag of chocolate chips, about half a cup of peanut butter, some sugar, and eggs. I remember when I was visiting with my sister in Chicago we had made “flourless” peanut butter cookies. And could vaguely remember them not using any butter. Which, I didn’t have at this point. So I started Googling recipes in search of something that could work, and came up with one off of The Food Network’s website, by Claire Robinson. She called for double the peanut butter I had, but I assumed I could half the recipe, no problem, and add chocolate chips to make them more fun.

The Ingredients:

  • 1/2 a cup of peanut butter
  • 1/2 a cup of sugar
  • 1/2 an egg, beaten
  • 1/2 teaspoon of Vanilla
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips, or so
  • Pinch of coarse sea salt

(I made about 8 cookies. But mine are larger :/ )

Heat your oven to 350 degrees.

Whisk all the ingredients together in a bowl until well mixed. Stir in chips.

Drop into rounded balls on an ungreased cookie sheet about 2 inches apart. Sprinkle coarse sea salt on top.

Bake for about 10 minutes, or until edges are browned. The less you bake, the softer and chewier they will be.

Let cool on a rack. Store any left overs in an air tight container.

Let me know how you guys like ’em!

 

 

Leave a comment